WONDERFUL CHARACTERS! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Brava, Ms. Conway, on a superb novel. Tremendous writing! Wonderful characters and story telling. Highly recommend. This is my first experience with Jayne Conway’s work, however, this novel had me emotional —- there was a few times I was so angry at a character that I had to put the book down and walk away until I could come back and read clearly. The story was very relatable not only to myself, but to others in my life. It was like a fly-on-the-wall wrote down all the things that have happened in our lives… but somehow understood our internal thinking as well. Thank you to NetGalley and Plain Jayne Ink for an ARC of As it Seems by Jayne Conway, in exchange for an honest review.”
— L. Schmitt on NetGalley 7/25/16
AN EMOTIONAL JOURNEY
I loved the fact that this book made me go through multiple emotions throughout it. Especially towards the main character. I loved her, I hated, I wanted to shake her, I wanted to hug her and tell her everything would be alright. Not many authors can successfully evoke that much emotion from the reader, but this author was very successful in doing so. This was a thoroughly good read.
— A. Spriegel on NetGalley 7/25/16
WELL WRITTEN AND ENJOYABLE READ
As It Seems, written by Jayne Conway, was a well-written and enjoyable read about a marriage devastated by infidelity and the aftershocks it causes. While I was sometimes frustrated with Libby, the lead female character, I also found myself wondering what I would do in her position. The truth is (and as the book states, in so many words) you never know what you would really do, until you are in the actual situation yourself. Divorce is a difficult thing to contemplate and even more so when there are children involved. It is an agonizing choice with no right answer. I felt that pain as I read the novel. I enjoyed reading this book and would read another book by this author.
— L. Niccolini on NetGalley 7/21/16
REALITY WRITTEN IN THE MOST BEAUTIFUL WAY POSSIBLE!
I honestly am quite in love with this book. To me, there are two types: one where I fall in love with the book because of the writing, and the other, where I fall in love with the book because it opens my eyes to more than I ever thought possible. As it Seems easily falls in the second category for me... This was a first Jayne Conway book for me, and reading this- the language, the honesty, and the life she weaves into her words makes me eager to get my hands on more.

I loved Libby, and her strength. I might not have always liked her decisions, but the thing is, it wasn’t because the author wanted to create some drama. Nothing in the book felt overtly dramatic. Every single plot point was carefully and thoughtfully placed. Truman’s love and dedication was truly heartbreaking and at the same time, swoon worthy. This book gave me a completely different outlook into the way adults behave, and their reasons. The only description I have for the book is painfully real. It was reality written in the most beautiful way possible. I have to give my hats off for the author for writing something so haunting.

I was given a free copy via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. (see full review on Goodreads)
— A. Purkayastha (Reviewer) on Net Galley 4/19/16
A THOROUGHLY ENJOYABLE NOVEL
This books delves into the relationships of friends and families in their local community and examines how the infidelity of two of them rocks the life of everyone and causes irrevocable changes when they are discovered. Libby is determined to save her marriage for the sake of her children but agonises over her decision when it means shutting out people she loves. Ginger plays a central role in supporting, but not judging her friends. A thoroughly enjoyable novel with excellent, believable characterisation and engaging storyline
— J Burrows on NetGalley 4/7/16
BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN
This book caused me physical pain. Beautifully written, we follow the journey of Libby, a suburban housewife whose life is turned upside down. A story about family, love, friendship, and relationships that makes you question your view of everything.
— M. Tremblay on NetGalley 3/28/16
FIVE STARS!
Another 5 star book! I am so happy that I stumbled upon this author! The plot was amazing, the characters were awesome! I like how she even incorporated some people from her first book into this one. I read it in one sitting — I had to find out how it would end. I will anxiously be awaiting her 3rd book!
— M. Seigle on NetGalley 3/19/16
AN UP AND COMING WRITER TO WATCH
I read Jayne Conway’s first novel, “What if I Fly?” pretty much on a whim and liked it quite a bit — surprisingly so, in fact, since romances aren’t usually my thing. But she won me over, and so I had no hesitation diving headlong into book two — “As It Seems” — and once again I was rewarded. There is unquestionably a certain tone to both of Ms. Conway’s novels to date: a strong sense of place, the challenges of finding and keeping love, devotion to family and friends, being hurt and searching for solace, redemption and peace. But “As It Seems” takes these themes further. The characters are fuller, the descriptions richer, the ultimate payoff greater. I really enjoyed the first book, but this second one shows a writer growing even more in her craft. I realize this review doesn’t tell you all that much about the plot of “As It Seems” or how it unfolds. But I’ll leave that to other reviewers and the book jacket. Better yet, explore it for yourself.
— C.E. Lamderson on Amazon 3/2/16
AN UPLIFTING & SATISFYING READ!
Wow. This book was painful and wonderful and true. Without spoiling it for others, Conway’s very real exploration of two marriages in crisis will strike a nerve to anyone who has ever been in an unstable relationship. I couldn’t put it down, wanting to know how Libby resolved her inner conflicts and hoping she’d learn to stand on her own two feet. Ultimately, an uplifting and satisfying read that will leave you with a smile on your face.
— S. Delano on Goodreads 2/27/16
EERILY REALISTIC
From the very first paragraph to the last word, Jayne easily drew me in to the lives of each character. The story is a realistic view of love, family, sacrifice, and ultimately encourages each of us to consistently honor our authentic selves.
— L. Carvelli on Goodreads 2/23/16
LOVE, LOVE, LOVED AS IT SEEMS!
If you’re looking for a new read, I highly recommend this book! Couldn’t put it down and read it in a day and a half.
— M. Philbin on Facebook 2/26/16
EXCELLENT READ!
Once you pick this book up to read you will not want to put it down. Very enjoyable.
— R. Amman on Amazon 2/26/16

Raves from Readers
What if I Fly?

IF YOU ENJOY A GOOD ROMANCE...ADD THIS TO YOUR LIST!
One of my favorite aspects of this story is how you get to experience every twist and turn from the day they met in 1992 onward. At times the story could be so frustrating because you want Will and Julia to do one thing and they do the complete opposite! Don’t even get me started on the whole Avery issue. Avery was definitely on my bad side throughout the entire book and I was definitely reacting the same way towards her as Ellie, who was probably my favorite character. Being able to switch between Will and Julia’s points of views really added to the story, but it also made some moments even more frustrating because you see exactly what is getting in the way of their relationship. If you haven’t already read What if I Fly? and you enjoy a good romance novel, you should add this one to your list.
— S. Johnson on NetGalley 7/22/16
I HONESTLY CAN’T BELIEVE THIS IS A DEBUT NOVEL!
I really enjoyed this book, I honestly can’t believe this is a debut novel! I tend to enjoy books that span over time and have a bit of angst in them and this book filled both of those needs. I loved Will & Julia and their love for one another. It was a great story and I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves romance and a well written book.
— S. Murphy on NetGalley 7/15/16
ROMEO & JANE EYRE SET IN OUR TOWN
I do not read romance novels, ever. I picked this up largely because of the Rhode Island setting... Too few books are set there, despite all it has to offer. I’m really glad I did. Ms. Conway has crafted a very effective, modern-day spin on “Romeo & Juliet,” tinged with some of the class-consciousness of “Jane Eyre” and insights into small-town America à la “Our Town.” The characters are well-drawn and realistic, as are their struggles — both visible (a wedding reception gone very wrong) and internal (tough decisions and ethical quandaries). I also really enjoyed the fluidity with which the author moved back and forth through time, which can be tough to follow if done badly but here was flawlessly executed. Definitely worth your time.
— C.E. Lamderson on Amazon 6/30/15
PHENOMENAL!
I’m stunned that this is a debut novel. It’s so well written, populated with realistic characters and graced by a well-crafted, believable story arc. The book is achingly plausible, and as such, it’s not fun getting through Will’s weakness or Julia’s stubbornness. Unlike so many in the genre, though, this bleeds realism, not contrivance. Never fear, you don’t have to suffer complete bleakness in the service of a well-written work; this one will not leave you depressed for weeks afterward. I so enjoyed my time with these characters and eagerly await the author’s next book.
— JenQ on Amazon 7/7/15
TALENTED NEW AUTHOR!
This was an excellent first novel by a very talented new author. While the work is not perfect, it is difficult to believe this is Ms. Conway’s first effort. The characters are well developed, the locations well described and the story held my interest. Highly recommended!!
— T. Chaves on Amazon 8/15/15
COULDN’T PUT IT DOWN!
The book was phenomenal. I couldn’t put it down. It stirred so many emotions in me and enjoyed reading about Bristol. So well written! Will recommend to all my friends. Congrats!
— A. Dicomitis on Facebook 7/31/15
PERFECT SUMMER READ!
Loved, loved, loved ‘What if I Fly?’ It’s the perfect summer read. Laughed and cried all within 24 hours. I could not put it down!
— M. Philbin on Facebook 7/21/15
A MUST READ!
Im not a romance novel person (being a 67 year old male), but I could NOT stop reading this book. The characters are well developed and believable. I couldn’t wait to turn the page and see what was happening next. By the time I finished the book I was wanting more. I felt like Will and Julia were new found friends and I really cared what was going on with them. By all means get this novel TODAY!
— P. DAlessio on Amazon 8/4/15
AWESOME READ!
Couldn’t put it down. Wow. Finished in a day. Awesome read. Took place in my home state so I was familiar with some of the setting but the characters brought the story to life. I am ready for a sequel.
— M. Fern on Amazon 8/4/15
TOTALLY ENGROSSING!
This is the first book I’ve read since having my baby last year. I was totally engrossed in the book and struggled with the feeling of not being able to finish it fast enough! I just had to find out as soon as possible how Will and Julia’s story would end...I so desperately wanted them to end up together. I loved how the events unfolded and can’t wait for the author’s next book.
— A. Perry on Facebook 7/23/15
FABULOUS!
You know a ‘beach read’ is good when it has greasy spots of sunscreen on it because I didn’t put it down while trying to spray myself and pink drips because I missed my own mouth while drinking because I tried to keep reading as I simultaneously drank my sports drink. It was fabulous!
— A. Faraone on Facebook 7/13/15
FANTASTIC READ! HATS OFF TO MS. CONWAY!
Loved reading about Will and Julia’s romantic roller coaster ride, and the details of RI were accurate, making the book even more enjoyable. Thanks for writing it, Jayne!
— H. Wardwell on Amazon 8/1/15
ENJOYABLE STORY!
Rarely do I get the time from my busy life to sit, relax and read. Thank you for writing such an enjoyable story!
— B. Remington on Facebook 7/12/15
NICELY WRITTEN STORY
Nicely written story, of boy meets girl in a small New England town with strong characters.. Will hold one’s interest & worth reading. First novel & looking forward to another!
— D. Jackson 7/30/15
COULDN’T PUT IT DOWN!
The storyline of this book was captivating. Being from the Rhode Island area and knowing the various locations described in the book made me feel like I was right there with the characters. I didn’t want to put the book down until I was finished and even then I wanted the story to continue. Looking forward to future publications by this author.
— P. Abbruzzi on Amazon 7/22/15
VERY ENJOYABLE READ
I originally bought the book due to part of the story being set in Rhode Island. I found that by the time the protagonist entered the story, I was hooked and finished the rest of the book with in a few hours. I was very tired the next day, but intrigued and satisfied with the way the rest of the story unfolded. An interesting and realistic group of people and events. I am looking forward to a next book.
— P. Murphy on Amazon 7/15/15
FIVE STARS!
I really enjoyed this book...finished reading it in a day and a half. Couldn’t put it down!
— M. McIntyre on Amazon 7/10/15
GREAT FIRST NOVEL
I really enjoyed this book, Ms. Conway really has a gift, her descriptions of the small towns of RI to the beautiful Verona captured my attention and I could see it all. The development of the characters is amazing, she does a great job of helping you to get to know these two families over the course of the book. I had a lot of trouble putting this down and was reading into the wee hours of the morning because I just had to know what was going to happen next in Will and Julia’s life. I also want to commend Ms. Conway for the way she incorporated 9/11 into the novel, she brought us back to those feelings we had that day, it was very touching. Kudos on a great first novel, can’t wait for the next one!
— M. Taft on Amazon 7/6/15
GREAT FIRST NOVEL! CAN’T WAIT FOR SECOND!
Normally I have some difficulty being captured by a book. This book grabbed me from the beginning and held me hostage until I finished. Love that it takes place in Rhode Island. Great character development, felt as if I really knew them and connected with their “Roller Coaster” ride through life. Great read, highly recommended!!! You won’t be disappointed!
— R. Bryden on Amazon 6/27/15
OUTSTANDING
I absolutely loved this book. The characters were well developed and I could visualize the people and couldn’t wait to find out what they would do next. I found myself anticipating the next move and quite often was surprised by the turn of events.
— R. Lamora on Amazon 6/27/15
BEAUTIFUL LOVE STORY
I don’t read romances - full of repetition and pathetic whining, if you ask me. So it was actually surprising and exciting to be so drawn in by this beautiful love story. It was easy to root for this smart and confident young woman and her kind and loyal friend Will as they figure out how to be true to themselves and each other. Bring this book to your favorite beach or coffee shop and allow yourself to indulge in a great story.
— J. Cicero on Goodreads 6/12/15
A MUST READ
I do not usually read fiction novels, but I couldn’t resist reading this one since I grew up in one of the various settings. The author accurately depicted the small town in Rhode Island, and created characters that sucked me in. This was a quick, easy read with a few unexpected twists that weren’t unrealistic at all. I can’t say too much more without spoiling it...just read it and you won’t be disappointed. I look forward to the author’s next novel!
— G. Miller on Amazon 6/6/15
GREAT SUMMER READ!
I loved this book. It has some good twist and turns and you won’t want to put this book down. I fell in love with the families.
— K. Gauthier on Amazon 6/27/15
I FELT LIKE I WAS THERE
Totally enjoyable reading. The story begins in Bristol RI and moves on to New York City, Washington DC and Verona Italy. Each location is described well enough that I could easily visualize them, and the characters defined to the point that the reader can really get to know Will, Jules, Ellie and Avery. The many twists and turns along the way really hooked me and I didn’t want to put the book down and didn’t want it to end. Easily five stars. Can’t wait for the author’s next book.
— TommyL on Amazon 6/25/15
HAD ME HOOKED FROM THE FIRST PAGE
Great book Had me hooked from the first page. I couldn’t put it down and finished it within a day. The characters and the locations were described so vividly, I felt I was there with them. The writer’s description of post 9/11 NYC gave me chills. Highly recommended
— K. Travers on Amazon 6/22/15